Significance of Navratri

Navratri is one of the most important festivals fervidly celebrated by the Hindu community throughout India. This nine-day festival celebrates the victory of good over evil forces and wards-off negative feelings of ignorance, fear, weakness, jealousy, and ego. By removing all the conflicting emotions and thoughts, the festival cleanses one’s mind and cultivates positive virtues.

During Navratri, the Goddess Mother Shakti is worshipped in three eminent divine forms: Durga, Lakshmi, and Saraswati, each of them bestowing us with courage, abundance and divine wisdom, respectively.



According to Hindu Mythology, Goddess Durga, also known as Devi, Shakti, and various other names, is the warrior goddess who battles sinful and malicious forces within us and in the outside world and exhibits justice, peace, and prosperity. She is the fierce form of Goddess Parvati, consort of Lord Shiva. The divine Goddess who personifies bravery is depicted sitting on a lion or a tiger with a wide array of weapons in her hands. The weapons include chakra, conch, bow, arrow, sword, spear, shield and a noose. During Navratri, the nine forms of Durga — “Nav Durga” are highly revered in certain parts of India.

The nine-day ceremony is called as Durga Puja in some parts of the country, and the Goddess is worshipped in nine different incarnations for the nine days. Mother Durga is a multi-faceted Goddess with many names, forms, and personas. Through all her forms, the universal mother instills purity, wisdom, truth, and self-realization in the hearts of her devotees.

  • Durga – The Invincible
  • Bhadrakali – The Auspicious and Fortunate
  • Amba or Jagdamba – Mother of the Universe
  • Annapoorna – The Giver of Food
  • Sarvamangala – The Giver of Joy
  • Bhairavi – The Terrifying
  • Chandika – The Violent
  • Lalita -The Beautiful
  • Bhavani -The Giver of Life
  • Mookambika -The One who listens



Lakshmi is the Hindu Goddess of wealth, fortune and prosperity, and is the consort of Lord Vishnu. She is the bestower of material as well as spiritual wealth. The real wealth one must own is not just physical comforts and luxuries, but the inner virtues of love, friendship, benevolence and kindness towards others. Lakshmi Devi, also known by the names Padma, Sri, Srija, Vishnupriya and many more, blesses her devotees with both physical comforts and noble virtues to fulfill their lives with richness, self-discipline, and clarity of thoughts.

Worshipping Goddess Lakshmi during Navratri grants one with 16 types of wealth namely: fame, knowledge, courage and strength, victory, children, valor, gold, precious stones, valuables, grains, happiness, bliss, intelligence, beauty, higher goals, morality and ethics, health and long life.



Goddess Saraswati personifies knowledge of the true self and blesses her devotees with divine wisdom and thorough understanding to conquer one’s mind. Lord Krishna says in the Bhagavad Gita,“The Knowledge of the Self is the true Knowledge.” Saraswati Devi gifts one with self-acquaintance of one’s virtues, thoughts, and actions and drives us towards success.

Worshipping Goddess Saraswati during Navratri showers one with her blessings of abundance, creativity, artistic skills, musical talent and paramount wisdom.