Nine Days Of Navratri

Navratri is a Hindu festival which is celebrated with immense zeal and enthusiasm all over India. This period of nine auspicious nights is celebrated twice a year – once in the month of Chaitra (March-April) and the other in the month of Ashwin (September-October). The festival is fervently celebrated to invoke the divine power of Goddess Shakti -the Chief of Creation, Preservation, and Destruction.

Celebrations during the nine days of Navratri

Navratri worship is divided into sets of three days to adore the three celestial facets of the Supreme Mother. On the first three days, Goddess Durga is worshipped to eradicate all our defects, weaknesses and negativities. On the next three days, Goddess Lakshmi, the bestower of fortune and wealth is revered to receive her eternal blessings of physical and spiritual virtues. On the last three days, Goddess Saraswati, the lotus angel of divine wisdom is cherished for begetting spiritual enlightenment and all-around success.

Each day, Mother Shakti takes a new facet which gave us nine different Goddesses to worship upon. They are Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Maha Gauri and Siddhidatri.

First Day Puja

The first form of Durga is called as Shailputri meaning daughter of the Himalayas and consort of Lord Shiva. She is depicted as an incarnation of Lord Brahma, Lord Vishnu, and Lord Shiva and is seen riding a bull, carrying a trident and having lotus in both her hands.

Nine Days Of Navratri

Second Day Puja

The second form of the divine mother is called as Brahmacharini. “Brahma” means tapas or penance. She personifies divine grace and utter bliss. Worshipping her in this form paves the way for Moksha or liberation.

Third Day Puja

Third Day Puja is dedicated to Goddess Chandraghanta, who symbolizes charisma and courage. Chandraghanta means the one who wears half-moon in her forehead in the shape of a bell (ghanta). This golden angel is worshipped for serenity, prosperity, and peace.

Fourth Day Puja

On the fourth day, Devi is worshipped in the form of Kushmanda. She is revered as the creator of the whole Universe and is depicted with powerful weapons and riding a lion.

Fifth Day Puja

On the fifth day, the divine mother is worshipped as Skand Mata – which means Mother of Skanda or Kartikeya. Skanda who is the chief of the warriors for Devas (Angels) is also revered in an infant form along with the Goddess.

Sixth Day Puja

The sixth form of Mother Shakti is called as Katyayani with three eyes and four hands. Legend states that the Mother Goddess was born as a daughter named Katyayani, to her ardent devotee named Kata to fulfill his desire of begetting her as his daughter.

Seventh Day Puja

The seventh day Puja is dedicated to Kaalratri, one who wards off her devotees’ fears. She is dark-complexioned as Kali and is depicted sitting on a donkey. She is also called as Shubamkari, which means doer of good things.

Eighth Day Puja

On the eighth day, she is worshipped as Maha Gauri or Mata Rani. Worshipping her with devotion washes away one’s sins of the past, present, and the future and is bestowed with intelligence, inner peace, and clarity of thoughts.

Ninth Day Puja

Siddhidatri is celebrated as the ninth and the final form of the Goddess. She is believed to have supernatural healing powers and blesses one with the eight siddhis (perfections). For this reason, she is highly revered by Rishis, Siddhas, and Yogis.